A day on the trains

 

1/6/17

An early start meant I wasn’t quite awake enough to panic about anything I had forgotten. Which luckily wasn’t a lot – I forgot to set my chromebook to work offline, and for at least the first two weeks of my travels I am fairly isolated. Fortunately I like a technical challenge. (and maybe my phone is super clever)

Originally I had relished the thought of travelling disconnected, but as a few people had mentioned; apparently this was dangerous. (what did people do before the age of wireless internet?!)

Anyway back to the trains.

Harrogate to York was fairly typical, a train full of people going on their way to work. Getting the 7.08 I would expect nothing less. Then To Kings cross, this journey was surprisingly relaxed, I even managed to catch an earlier train than planned. This Interrailing lark was beginning to feel easy.

The highlight so far was the man in a suit with the tiny transparent bag full of blueberries. But nothing else.

Now these are the parts that scared me – finding the right terminal/station/platform ie catching the right train at the right time. The Kings cross/ St Pancras navigation was easy. providing you plowed through the hordes of people. (and also just headed straight for the exit and went above ground).

The Eurostar was

  1. Hot

  2. Noisy

  3. Faster than expected

I caught this one at 1131, and by this point in time I was tired/grumpy/hungry/queasy.

There was also a group of posh lads on tour; drinking beer/g&ts/prosecco and playing pointless. And also making numerous tory/brexit jokes.

Great combo.

Forced a nap. Didn’t Die.

France was HOT. I had left The UK dressed for typical UK weather. Ie layers. AT this point I realised that this was a mistake. Now the next challenge was to get from Gare du Nord, to Gare du Est; I employed the typical lost tourist method of walking and asking then following people with bags. 10 minutes later – success.

Now was a wait. A hot sticky tired wait. The train to Stuttgart (the fancy high-speed TGV was late pfft) I shamelessly changed my socks(whist sat on the floor of the station) to a more suitable pair, then paid for a wee break. And waited.

So only 15 minutes later than scheduled the train departed, then we sat not moving for an undetermined length of time. All in all we were now 30 minutes (ish) late. This fancy train was a double-decker, with slightly better aircon than the Eurostar (lucky, considering the amount of people packed on and the heat outside) so the trip was a much more enjoyable one.

The 30 minute delay meant I missed my connection to Horb (and also meant that my lift, Frank may be waiting around for a little while) so I searched for wifi to send a message. Luckily this was easy. Whilst waiting in Stuttgart, I must mention the amazing(ly expensive) pot of fruit that helped in many ways. Anyway – I found a train going to Zürich that stopped in Horb, so Jumped on that, then found myself a seat in the almost empty first class cabin.

THE LEG ROOM.

Plus this was the first time I had a chance to enjoy the scenery outside. The forests are so dense in Germany – no light comes though them. The horizon seems so much more massive than the UK, the hills and fields go on for ever, with buildings in the sides of hills, little pockets of new and old civilisation.

A quick 45 minutes and I was there, meeting my lift and away to Kunstort Eleven Artspace in Borstingen. This drive was right into the heart of the country, towards the Necker, through little towns, cutting through those forests. The whole place feels very isolated, calm and quite; the sound of the insects are louder than the sound of the traffic.

And tomorrow (as in today) I explore.

Spoiler – I did manage to get on the internet, however I did also forget to bring my card reader – ie no pictures.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

