Blur

I have always been interested in the blur between subjects. The point at which one thing is both neither yet has characteristics that can be attributed to either party.

I guess the direction I take this word is a selfish one, as in its a subject that has been sparked and will hopefully be indulged by my journey back into education.

I took a long time to find a course I was genuinely excited about applying for (and for a little while, I was definitely thinking about applying because I was expected to) – finding the Performance design MA was a complete fluke. Finding a course which enabled me to explore and develop my (quite eclectic) interests was quite amazing.

I have 3 main lines of enquiry I wish to expand –

  • The relationship between viewer and performer. The effect of emotional content/technical difficulty and the level of observation of an audience – I am curious to try to measure this and plot it in a three dimensional log, one that evolves with each interaction.

This is less to do with blur and more to do with interaction. Yet, I do feel it plays into how an artist uses that collaborative quality of a performance to create a dialogue between one and the other. 

IMG_0942.JPG
A performance at the EJC 206
  • The relations between; stage performance (dance, circus, theatre etc); fine art (predominantly conceptual performance) and sports that encompass a performance based dynamic (martial arts/dance/gymnastics, to an extent) – In the past year I have become more conscious of the obscure lines between these disciplines.

This is a more personal endeavour, and one found through a mishmash of jobs/interests/pursuits. The point at which a performance is no longer a piece of contemporary art, but a stage show or a competition piece is intriguing. Also, the importance of the setting of the performance, whether on the stage, street, gallery, screen or mats. 

12249702_1068223139889343_4629037368577227923_n
Me and the brother competing in the self defence division of the WMFK 2015 world championships.  (photo courtesy of Mark Williams)
  • The relationship between object and viewer – and the interactions between them that in turn creates and transforms a piece or interpretation of a piece from its initial intended significance – the idea that the audience makes the art is one that has been important for me for a long time.

The point at which the artists leaves the work, and the interpretation is on the viewer. This is a subject I have previously looked into in Objects as art. There is a continuous push and pull between the two parties involved in art (the maker and the audience). I am interested in how that is used in a live performance setting, and where one ends and another starts.

Definite Sunday ramblings.

via Daily Prompt: Blur

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

